26
Jan
10

A Makeover Story

     

 At 39, Salma felt she needed a change. “I often have challenges in finding the right fit, both for casual and dressy outfits,” she admitted.
“I love clothes and fashion and wanted to update my closet with some items that were new this season yet would be classic additions to my wardrobe.”

Curves are great, but balance is the key (isn’t it always?) Salma’s pear-shaped body type requires a wider leg and higher-waist pant. Because so much of Salma’s figure is well proportioned, we can balance the hips by adding soft layers and volume to the other parts of the body without bulking her up. An executive, Salma needs to always wear professional pieces at work. A suit is a great choice because it lands confidence and authority. Prominent collars – either on a jacket or a shirt – balance the hip and bookend an outfit. A three-button jacket helps pull everything into place. The jacket shouldn’t be tight on the tummy but should create a line that narrows the waist.
This dress is an example of using all curves to their best advantage. We couldn’t get over how stunning Salma looked in this dress – it seemed as if it had been made for her.
A straight empire style dress emphasizes Salma’s curves, while adding balance to her body shape. Dutchess satin is structured and has enough weight to support curves and show them off. The detail on the top creates visual focus near her face, and elongates the silhouette. Any great bag would work here; one that matches the outfit or is in bold contrast to it.

HAIR
“ I often wear my hair up as I have a natural curl in my hair and find it challenging to style” Salma confesses. Brent form The Lounge Hair Studio darkened her hair to a rich chocolate brown. “I’ve added some low lights to make it look more natural, and to give lust and shine to her hair. Then, I reshaped her layers so it would give her more body, movement and a trendier look’” he explained.

SKIN                                                                                                                                                                                           When I first met Salma, within the first few minutes of our conversation, she asked if we would include skincare in the makeover process.
“I have always approached my skin care with a long-term perspective. Since I’m reaching a milestone age, I want to learn some prevention skills to ensure that I am proactively looking after my skin while it’s still in good condition” she explained.  Salma’s main concerns were dark circles around the eyes and uneven skin tone.
We sent Salma to the Facial Rejuvenation Clinic. After a consultation, skin care experts recommended a mechanical exfoliation called microdermabrasion.
Through the use of gently abrasive crystals combined with an air stream, the microdermabrasion method gently removes the upper layer of dead skin cells. Removal of the dead tissue brings the healthy under layer of the skin to the surface, encouraging healthy cell rejuvenation. The process is entirely painless and non-invasive, usually taking less than 30 minutes for a complete facial treatment.

At the end of the session, Salma’s skin was softer, smoother and fresher looking.

MAKE-UP
Applied correctly, make-up can enhance a woman’s beauty by accentuating striking features or by creating visual illusions, for example.
Using foundation and concelear, I’ve started by evening out the skin tone and camouflaging Salma’s dark circles under the eyes.
Because she has a warm complexion and brown eyes, a dark green for eye lining is perfect for evening glamour. It creates contrast, therefore making the eyes stand out more.
I’ve darkened the brows to match her new hair colour, and applied shimmer eyeshadow to creative a more festive look. Two coats of mascara on the upper lashes completed the eye make-up. Warm toned blush for enhancing that fresh and healthy glow on her face, and a touch of coral lipstick finished the evening look.

After a lot of work but great fun, Salma was ready to share some thoughts about her makeover journey.
“This has truly been a transformation from the inside out. After a fitness assessment , I worked with my personal trainer to improve my posture, strength, and flexibility. This was followed by a wardrobe makeover with The Image Builders where I learned tips on finding the best fit and style for me, and updated my accessories. The make-up consultation was probably the best part, I love what Denisa did to my eyes. While it wasn’t always easy to let others make decisions on my behalf, the expert advice I received from all consultations in this makeover was outstanding – thank you so much!”

Photo credit Heather Goldsworthy from IMAGEOBSCURA, www.imageobscura.com

 

Many thanks to: The Lounge Hair Studiowww.loungehairstudio.com, The Facial Rejuvenation Clinicwww.frcbc.ca and Mixx Co-Fitness Studio -www.mixxco.com for kindly contributing to Salma’s makeover.

 

 

0 Responses to “A Makeover Story”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

