23
Jun
10

The Seventeen Magazine Project

Thirty Days According to the Ultimate Teenage Handbook!

How often do we read magazines and actually commit to absorbing all of the suggestions, instructions, and tips into our  own daily lives? One high school senior flipped through the pages of Seventeen magazine this Spring and was inspired to undertake a fascinating experiment. Here in Jamie Keiles’ own words is the description of her endeavour:

What would happen if an actual teenager were to apply all of these “tips and tricks” to her life? Would it actually improve? Would she actually become cuter/hotter/thinner/fitter/healthier/more popular? Do embodying these traits even make one’s life more fulfilling? This is what I will set out to explore. The goal of this project is to simply explore a dying aspect of teenage culture. I will live my life according to the tips provided by the June/July issue of Seventeen magazine and Seventeen.com from today until the weekend of my high school graduation (June 21). Conveniently, this project will also span the Most Important and Magical Night of My Teenage Life (i.e. senior prom). I will use this blog to record my findings, and to provide commentary on teenage life/the adolescent experience.

Here are the rules of the project:
  1. I will read the entire June/July issue of Seventeen magazine from cover to cover.
  2. Every day I will utilize at least one “beauty tip” (hair/makeup/skincare/whathaveyou) and one fashion tip.
  3. I will follow all diet and exercise tips provided in the issue to a T.
  4. I will participate in every activity recommended by the magazine (i.e. host a fright night, score your hottest summer hookup ever, be confident in a bikini, etc.)
  5. I will apply for every single “freebieoffered by the magazine, every day.
  6. I will consume all media recommended by the magazine at least once. (books/movies/music)
  7. I will hang all provided pictures/posters of “hot guys” in my living environment.

  Jamie has recently completed her experiment and recounts the experience on her blog. For interesting insight into the perspective of a savvy and witty teen who’s looking beyond the surface of style magazines, link to her commentary here.

To read an earlier post from The Image Builders on magazines, link here.

0 Responses to “The Seventeen Magazine Project”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

